Ever since my visit to the Groves Grown Tropical Fruit farm which I babbled about in the Coconut Shrimp/Prawns with Spicy Thai Mango Sauce recipe I shared a couple of weeks ago, I’ve been going a little mango-mad. Mango sorbet. Mango cheesecake. Mango marinade (seriously SO GOOD!). Mango salsas. I don’t want to overwhelm you with mango recipes so I decided to pick one more to share this summer. And really, there was no contention. This Thai Mango Chicken Curry. There are no words. Honestly, I think it’s the best “from scratch” invention to come out of this kitchen for a while. LOOK how thick and saucy it is! With 1/3 less calories!!!

Everyone loves a great curry, especially creamy coconut milk ones. But I rarely have Thai curries midweek because of the calories….WOWZER! Coconut milk is seriously loaded with calories. There are 920 calories / 3,850 kilojoules in one 400g/13oz can of coconut milk. Did you know that?? Sure, you could go low-fat coconut milk. But it’s nowhere near the same……Those who have tried it will know exactly what I’m talking about when I say that the curry sauce is watery instead of creamy. So the awesome discovery I made?? Switch out half the coconut milk with mango puree. That’s right, mangoes! In puree form it’s thick and creamy, has the sweetness of coconut milk – the PERFECT coconut milk substitute. With less than 1/3 of the calories of coconut milk.

And in case you are concerned, NO it’s not too sweet! Coconut milk is sweet anyway, so it basically replaces that. Plus, here are the ratios I use: 1 can (400g/13oz) coconut milk, 1 cup mango puree and 3/4 cup chicken broth/stock (thins out the mango, adds extra flavour depth). There is no way anyone would taste this Thai Mango Chicken Curry and think “this is sweet”.

To be clear – I did not invent this Thai Mango Chicken Curry in a bid to lighten up curry! I made it simply because I thought it would be delish – and it blew me away. And my taste testers. Especially when I told them it was so much healthier than the usual red curry!

This is the very first recipe I’m sharing which uses a store bought curry paste. And it’s in response to a request from a friend who mentioned that curries she makes using store bought curry paste just never tastes as good as restaurant curries. There’s no denying that a made-from-scratch curry paste makes a difference. But you know what? The bigger factor is using store bought curry paste properly – freshening up the flavours by sautéing it with onion, garlic, ginger and chillies. And the ultimate tip I have? KAFFIR LIME LEAVES. That is the key. They smell limey but are earthier, and when you plonk them into the sauce to simmer away, that is when the magic happens and you’ll make a curry that rivals a restaurant one. Just like it’s the secret to make a Restaurant Style Coconut Rice. 🙂 I need to stop here. Otherwise I’ll write a thesis. I really hope you try this Thai Mango Chicken Curry. I can’t stress enough how delicious it is! Thick, creamy, EXTRA saucy with less calories. Eyes fluttering Thai curry heaven. – Nagi x

SaveSave

Thai Mango Chicken Curry - 59Thai Mango Chicken Curry - 98Thai Mango Chicken Curry - 12Thai Mango Chicken Curry - 34Thai Mango Chicken Curry - 94Thai Mango Chicken Curry - 77Thai Mango Chicken Curry - 78Thai Mango Chicken Curry - 67Thai Mango Chicken Curry - 44