Mushrooms were made for stuffing for all sorts of purposes – bite size to pass around at gatherings, and large ones like this for eggs!

Baked Eggs in Mushrooms

I made these last weekend. Yes, on a Sunday. And yes, it was sunny. And yes, I am usually very uncreative when it comes to recipe names, and writing generally. But I like to think that I can get creative in the kitchen, and so that’s what I focus my energy on, not coming up with catchy names for my recipes! “Check the mushrooms to make sure the cap isn’t cracked. Otherwise the egg will leak out. It’s so disappointing to open the oven to find that there is no egg left in the mushroom!” These are fabulous for something different to start your day (though I have had these for dinner, too). You will need large mushrooms for these, large enough to hold an egg. In Australia, flat mushrooms or Portobello mushrooms are perfect. Make sure you get mushrooms that aren’t cracked, otherwise the egg might seep out while cooking. I lined the mushroom caps with pasta sauce because that’s what I had on hand but I’ve also used pizza sauce before. Both work equally well so go with what your flavour preference is and what you have on hand. You could even use tomato ketchup, though personally I haven’t done this before. I spread the sauce in the mushroom cap before cracking the egg in for a few reasons:

  1. Adds flavour. Otherwise it’s just mushroom, egg + cheese which I found was a bit lacking in flavour;
  2. Adds moisture. If I didn’t use the sauce in the mushroom, I would probably have something on the side; and
  3. Provides an extra barrier to prevent any egg from leaking through the mushroom cap (not a huge concern, but it’s an extra precaution). This is a breakfast that will put a smile on anyone’s face. I’m grinning from ear to ear just writing about it. And now if you’ll excuse me, I need to get stuck into my eggs. Oh and PS, it’s only 160 calories per serving. So it’s guilt free pleasure. Not much of that left in this world!

More great recipes for BIG mushrooms!

Pizza Stuffed Mushrooms Baked Vegetable Frittata Garlic Butter Roasted Mushrooms

  SaveSave

Sunday Sunshine Baked Eggs in Mushrooms - 33Sunday Sunshine Baked Eggs in Mushrooms - 39Sunday Sunshine Baked Eggs in Mushrooms - 13