I know it’s Monday so I should be sharing a sensible quick ‘n easy meal, but it’s Monday Meatball Mania* today and the party season is upon us so cocktail meatballs it is!! Plump, juicy and soft – as all meatballs should be – these Cocktail Meatballs are served with a Sweet & Sour Dipping Sauce. Individually, you’ll find both tasty. Combine them together – and woah. It’s kind of like Chimichurri Sauce. By itself, you wonder why people go bonkers over it. Eat it with steak and you understand. 🙂

  • Monday Meatball Mania is a “thing” that my friend Jo from Jo Cooks and I started at the beginning of this year where we each agreed to share a meatball recipe on the last Monday of every month. Why are we doing this? Because we both agree that all foods that come in ball shapes are exceptionally tasty, there should be more of it, and meatballs are arguably the King of all Ball Shaped Foods, so this is our contribution to making this world a better place.

↑↑↑ Note how I roll out my meatballs: measure and dollop it all out, then roll them into balls. I’ve made a lot of meatballs in my time. Pending the invention of a meatball maker, this is the most efficient way I’ve been able to come up with for rolling meatballs. ↑↑↑ Also note: pork + beef. Because this = optimum tenderness, juiciness, flavour and texture for cocktail meatballs (in my humble, meatball obsessed opinion). ↑↑↑ Also….  baked not fried. Because this = rounder, easier, healthier. Wait until you see me giving these babies a squeeze in the video to show you how soft they are …..  😂 These Cocktail Meatballs are served with a Sweet & Sour Sauce that I coat the meatballs with as well as serving on the side for dipping. If you usually use store bought, I really urge you to try homemade just once – I am pretty sure you’ll be converted for life! It’s incredibly easy to make with pantry staples – vinegar, ketchup, sugar, cornflour / cornstarch, water and soy sauce (<– No, it doesn’t taste Asiany, soy sauce provides the salt + extra flavour). Just plonk it all into a saucepan, whisk and simmer for a couple of minutes until it thickens.

These Cocktail Meatballs reheat really well, so they’re ideal for gatherings. Bake them, let them cool, then cover and refrigerate or freeze. Microwave to reheat and they’ll become nice and soft again. The Sweet & Sour Sauce keeps for days too – I’m not exactly sure how long, but it’s the sort of thing I’d still consume even a week after making it. Put them out with toothpicks and serve them at your next party. Or… make them for DINNER!!! I mean, I know I call them Cocktail Meatballs. But really, they’re just Sweet & Sour Meatballs. That’s a dinner meal, right?! – Nagi x

More cocktail food for parties

Cheeseburger Party Meatballs Smoked Salmon Stacks Spinach Ricotta Rolls or Puffs Ham and Cheese Puffs Sausage Rolls Chorizo Bites in Sweet & Sour Sauce Coconut Shrimp / Prawns with Thai Mango Dipping Sauce Truly Crispy Baked Wings – or Buffalo Wings See all Dip Recipes, all Party Food and the Top 25 Party Foods!

 

WATCH HOW TO MAKE IT

LIFE OF DOZER

Did I mention that his robe comes with a HOOD???!! 😂

SaveSave SaveSave SaveSave

Cocktail Meatballs with Sweet   Sour Dipping Sauce - 6Cocktail Meatballs with Sweet   Sour Dipping Sauce - 83Cocktail Meatballs with Sweet   Sour Dipping Sauce - 18Cocktail Meatballs with Sweet   Sour Dipping Sauce - 93Cocktail Meatballs with Sweet   Sour Dipping Sauce - 38Cocktail Meatballs with Sweet   Sour Dipping Sauce - 92Cocktail Meatballs with Sweet   Sour Dipping Sauce - 21Cocktail Meatballs with Sweet   Sour Dipping Sauce - 10