I started the week off with Cottage Pie, wedged in a Stovetop Mac and Cheese on Wednesday and am finishing off the week with this Chocolate Self Saucing Pudding. It seems that this week was Comfort Food Week here on RecipeTin Eats and I missed the memo. My own memo.😂 When I was younger, I was so fascinated with self saucing puddings. I always thought they were magical. One batter transforming into a cake that looks so innocent when it comes out of the oven, then when you break into it – boom! Eyes light up at the sight of all that chocolate sauce!!!

I should qualify that statement actually, it’s a little more than one batter. But not much more! All it takes is sprinkling sugar + cocoa on top of the batter and pouring over hot water. This mixture then sinks to the base of the dish as it bakes, passing through the cake making it sooooo moist (I love this thought!), and it reduces down to become a sauce.

You see in the photo above how I am pouring the hot water over the back of a spoon? The purpose of this is to soften the fall of water onto the sugar topping, to try to keep the surface as even as possible so the surface of the pudding is as even as possible when it comes out of the oven. I’m not an expert at this part. Also, my recipe uses a slightly higher water to sugar ratio than most classic recipes because I like to have a sauce that is actually a bit like sauce, rather than a thick sludge. Mind you, sludge still tastes fabulous! It’s just a matter of preference. So because I use slightly more water, the top of my pudding is not as perfectly smooth. Less water = smoother surface = less sauce. 🙂 See? Here’s my sauce. It’s pourable. But thick, not watery. You can actually scrape some off the bottom of the baking dish and pour it over.

I’ve never been embarrassed by the nubbly top of my puddings but if I was, I’d just dust it with icing sugar. The pudding really is cake-like so you could in fact slice it and serve it like cake, then use a spoon to drizzle each slice with the chocolate sauce. But tradition is to use a spoon to serve Chocolate Self Saucing Pudding. Scoop out big dollops of it so you get cake and sauce in each spoonful. It doesn’t look as neat as slicing, but that’s the way it’s supposed to be.

Chocolate Self Saucing Pudding is just made with cocoa powder, no chocolate. I’m sure there are richer versions around with the addition of chocolate chips. But the traditional way is so darn good, I have no urge to stray! I like to serve pudding with ice cream or cream, and usually some fresh strawberries or other fruit, just to break it up and add a pop of colour. Easy enough for midweek. And a crowd pleaser for company. I am totally and utterly in love with Chocolate Self Saucing Pudding! – Nagi x

More cosy warm desserts for cold winter nights!

Apple Crumble – personal favourite! Strawberry Crumble Sticky Date Pudding with Butterscotch Sauce Bread and Butter Pudding Magic Caramel Self Saucing Baked Apples

WATCH HOW TO MAKE IT

Recipe video! And don’t worry, though you’ll see Dozer plodding over for a taste test, he didn’t get any. No chocolate for dogs!

LIFE OF DOZER

He hates floor-mopping day even more than I do because I make him wear socks while I enjoy the feeling of clean floors for a few hours….

Chocolate Self Saucing Pudding - 75Chocolate Self Saucing Pudding - 76Chocolate Self Saucing Pudding - 65Chocolate Self Saucing Pudding - 77Chocolate Self Saucing Pudding - 79Chocolate Self Saucing Pudding - 4Chocolate Self Saucing Pudding - 98Chocolate Self Saucing Pudding - 48