Cashew Chicken Meatballs

Monday Meatball Mania is back!!! Wow you guys LOVED the Swedish Meatballs I shared last month. Soft tender meatballs bathed in a creamy gravy….ugh. How did it take me so long to share that one?? For those not already on board the meatball train, here’s the background: my friend Jo from Jo Cooks and I whole heartedly agree that there needs to be more ball shaped foods in this world. Because ball shaped food are all delish. Think about it, come back and let me know if you think of any ball shaped food that you’re not a fan of. (Other than so-name animal part – doesn’t count!) And the king of ball shaped foods are meatballs. So Jo and I embarked upon a monthly meatball challenge, aptly named Monday Meatball Mania. On the last Monday of every month, we will both post a meatball recipe. Pop over to Jo Cooks and see what she’s sharing this month! As for moi? I have for you something a little different. One of your favourite Chinese takeout dishes – Cashew Chicken. In meatball form!

This Cashew Chicken Meatballs recipe truly is everything you know and love about classic Chinese Cashew Chicken, except it’s made with meatballs rather than chicken pieces. Beautifully saucy, with tender, seasoned meatballs with green capsicum / bell peppers and cashews. Fans of meatballs and Chinese food…. one bite and you will fall in love. Completely and utterly. I couldn’t stop. I skipped the rice and inhaled an inordinate amount of these, with Dozer looking on pitifully, disbelieving that not a single meatball fell his way.

I’m a firm believer in learning to make classics the right way. And I expect that in my lifetime, I’ll be making Chinese Cashew Chicken the classic way much more frequently than with meatballs. There’s no denying it takes more hands on time to make meatballs, albeit because of the time it takes to tenderise and marinate the chicken, the classic way actually does take longer from start to finish. But sometimes, it’s just nice to do something different, don’t you think? Plus, this is a really versatile recipe. 4 basic ingredients for the sauce: soy sauce, Chinese cooking wine, Oyster sauce and cornflour/cornstarch. Chicken or pork mince (that’s ground chicken to Americans!). Everything else is optional or can be substituted for whatever you have. And truly, I think you’ll be amazed how delicious the sauce is! You can read the reviews on the Cashew Chicken recipe because it is exactly the same sauce! – Nagi x

I Get A Round: More Meatball Recipes

Thai Meatballs – Pork meatballs with lemongrass, garlic and a zesty hint of kaffir lime Mexican Meatballs – Beef and pork meatballs supercharged with fiesty Mexican spices Vietnamese Meatballs (Bun Cha!) – Char-grilled pork meatballs with dipping sauce from the streets of Hanoi Italian Meatballs –  An Italian-American classic, these meatballs are pillowy soft Swedish Meatballs – With a savoury and creamy sauce, these are one of the world’s most iconic meatballs! Browse all Meatball recipes

Cashew Chicken Meatballs

WATCH HOW TO MAKE IT

Cashew Chicken Meatballs recipe video!

LIFE OF DOZER

Just washed him. 🤦🏻‍♀️ I guess I should be grateful the grass is clear of 💩?

SaveSave

Cashew Chicken Meatballs - 33Cashew Chicken Meatballs - 86Cashew Chicken Meatballs - 80Cashew Chicken Meatballs - 5Cashew Chicken Meatballs - 52Cashew Chicken Meatballs - 17